Just in: Mandatory Evacuation Ordered For Outer Banks

Dare County officials have issued an official mandatory evacuation for all visitors and residents of all areas of Hatteras Island including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village.

This goes into effect at Noon today. 

Other areas of the Outer Banks will be evacuated starting tomorrow at 7am including: the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo; Roanoke Island; and the Dare County mainland.

"Hurricane Florence is currently projected to be a category 3 or 4 storm at landfall in southeastern North Carolina and may bring life-threatening storm surge to Dare County, along with tropical storm force winds, heavy rains and the potential for tornadoes. Even a small northward shift in the track of the storm could bring devastating impacts to our area." Officials said in a press release. 

Residents are advised to evacuate as soon as possible, regardless of the posted times. 



Want to know more about Steve? Get his official bio, social pages & articles on 98 Rock - Harrisonburg! Read more


Content Goes Here